Sydney Slocum

Miss Riverbend

Hometown:  Olive Branch, MS

Platform:      A Piece to the Puzzle: Possibilities for those with Disabilities

Talent:           Tap Dance

What college did you attend, or are currently attending?  I am currently a junior at Mississippi State University. Hail State!

What is your major?  I am a Kinesiology major with a concentration in Clinical Exercise Physiology with a minor in Psychology.

What is your scholastic ambition? I plan to obtain a B.S. degree in Kinesiology from Mississippi State University with honors. Following graduation, I would like to continue my education by attending medical school to pursue a career as a pediatrician.

List scholastic honors:  Recipient of the Presidential Scholarship at MSU, Exercise Science Honor Society, Order of Omega, Society for Collegiate Leadership & Achievement member, Graduate of Distinction from DeSoto Central, National Honor Society Member, and Hall of Fame at DeSoto Central High School.

Greatest non-academic accomplishment:  I was honored to be chosen as a Diamond Girl for MSU’s baseball team. I enjoy being able to meet so many people, while also experiencing and sharing my love for MSU, Americas favorite past time, and the Carnegie Hall of College Baseball.

What is your favorite style of music?  I enjoy a wide variety of music! I listen to anything from Michael Jackson to George Strait. I also adore anything from K-LOVE because it is encouraging and puts a smile on my face.

What is your favorite movie genre and why?  Romantic Comedies are my favorites. I am always up for a good laugh and the feel good movies that bring me joy. I am a sucker for a happy ending.

What is your favorite gadget?  I love my Apple Watch. I use it to stay motivated and lead a healthy lifestyle.

What is your favorite blog?        Savvyjanine.com for sure. Savvy has such a light about her that sheds in all of her posts and doings that give tremendous amounts positivity and encouragement.

What is your favorite place to visit?  Breckenridge, Colorado. It literally and figuratively takes your breath away with its beauty, and it gives you a feeling of serenity in the midst of the mountains.

What is your favorite food?          Anything and everything from Newks but especially their Pimiento Mac & Cheese.

If you were on a deserted island, what book would you want with you?  I would have to have Uninvited by Lysa TerKeurst. This book speaks volumes because of its transparency and honesty, and it allows one to find their grit even through the most difficult times.

Do you twitter?   Yes, I do. It is a great way to stay connected with things going on in our world, and it always has something that makes me laugh. Follow me @Syd_Slo

What is your favorite?

Sport:    Baseball

Sports Team:   Mississippi State Baseball

Actor:    Matthew McConaughey       

Actress:        Reese Witherspoon

Television Program:         Friends

Wardrobe Accessory:  Earrings, without a doubt! You will never catch me without a pair of earrings on. They complete any outfit.

Thing to do on a weekend:  I love exploring new places, doing anything outdoors, shopping, or watching any Mississippi State team play.

Way to spend a day off:  I always enjoy spending time with family and friends, catching up on my favorite shows, being outside, and volunteering wherever I can.

What is your hometown like?  My hometown, Olive Branch, has a small town feel and friendliness all while keeping its charm as being named one of the fastest growing cities in the nation. It is constantly growing and expanding, and it is a wonderful place to grow up.

What were you like when you were a child?  As a child, I was very adventurous with a big imagination. I loved to be on the go, constantly, because my older brothers played competitive baseball and I thought that was the best. One Easter, my mom dressed me in white gloves with my frilly dress and I kept telling everyone that I was wearing batting gloves.

Who is the most influential person in your life?       My younger brother, Seth, is the most influential person in my life. He inspires me to work hard and face challenges head on, and I strive daily to be the best person possible because of him. He shows me daily that what some say is impossible really means “I’m Possible!”

What is the one thing about you that people you meet may not immediately realize?

A lot of people do not realize that I am actually pretty athletic, since I am so girly off the court or field. I can play just about any sport, and I have a few state championships.

Describe one defining moment in your own life, other than winning your local title:  Winning my first 6A state championship in volleyball showed me that hard work, persistence, and determination really do pay off. I often times thought about giving up but having the consistency to continue to achieve a goal was definitely worthwhile, and that is why I continue to work hard in my everyday life was because of this event and seeing one of my dreams come true.

What is one important thing you have learned from being in the Miss America Program?

The Miss America Organization has taught me to not only be comfortable in my own skin but also to embrace the quirky things about myself and situations that I have never had before. This organization has allowed each and every participant to embark on creating the best version of themselves possible and to that I am grateful.

If you are crowned Miss Mississippi, what do you want to accomplish during your Year of Service?  In my year of service as Miss Mississippi, I want to create a feeling of transparency throughout the state, the people that I represent, and the individuals who I would be a role model and mentor to. I also want continue to get more Best Buddies chapters in more schools throughout our beautiful state, create possibilities for those with disabilities on a daily basis, and spread the message of the Miss America Organization and what it does for Children’s Miracle Network Hospitals.

What is your secret wish or dream?  I would absolutely adore to move to New York City and become a fashion and lifestyle blogger.

I’m motivated by:  I am motivated by the desire to better myself and learning from past failures. I have a competitive edge and desire to be successful, that helps me reach the goals I set for myself.

Is there a personal connection that made you pick your personal platform? Absolutely! My younger brother, Seth, who is fifteen months younger than I am and is autistic was getting ready to graduate high school in May of 2016 with his occupational diploma. Little did my family and I know, we quickly realized that there were not as many opportunities for Seth and other individuals like him that were older, his same age, or even still younger in the school system to pursue a higher education or have a friendship.

What do you think has been the most significant event in your lifetime?   Accepting Christ as my personal savior and getting baptized has been the most significant event. It has completely changed my outlook on life and is a constant reminder of the hope, love, and positivity that I am able to share with others. God’s love really does shine through everything.

The one thing I can’t live without:         Coffee! It always starts my day off in a good way, and it is always a nice pick me up if I need it in the afternoon.

My best friend would describe me as:  My best friend would describe me as energetic, loyal, optimistic, hardworking, and goofy!

Something interesting about my family:  We are a big, loud close knit family who is not only always up for an adventure but also extremely competitive. At one time, I had all of my cousins and siblings in the same school in grades: 2,3,4,7,8,9,10,11, and 12.

Funniest or most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to me:  I was in a sold out opening premiere of one of the Twilight movies, and I had gone to get more popcorn for my friends and I during the film. When I was coming back in, I fell up the stairs spilling popcorn everywhere and falling face first. Needless to say, I do not get up in the middle of movies anymore and I did not pick up my popcorn at the time!

One thing I’d like to try that is out of character for me: I would enjoy going backpacking throughout Europe. It would be a nice change of pace for my friends and I, and I think that would be spontaneous and exciting, all while being able to make fantastic memories that I would have for a lifetime.

Do you have any pets? If so, what kind and tell us their names:  I have three precious dogs: Clare a yellow Labrador, Dorsey a Yorkie-Poo and Rylee a British Red Lab. They all are full of life, with spunky and entertaining personalities, who bring so much joy to me. Their cuddles never disappoint, either!