Macy Mitchell

Miss Deep South

Hometown:   Petal, Mississippi

Platform:       Crowns For A Cure

Talent:           Vocal

What college did you attend, or are currently attending? The University of Southern Mississippi

What is your major? Communication Studies—B.A.

What is your scholastic ambition? I plan to obtain a Bachelor’s of Arts in Communication Studies and a minor in Spanish from the University of Southern Mississippi.

List scholastic honors: Mississippi Scholar; Luckyday Citizenship Scholar; Heritage Club of Petal Scholar; Fall 2015 University of Southern Mississippi’s Dean’s List; Petal High School Academic Excellence Award; Pearl River Community College Vice Presidential Scholar

Greatest non-academic accomplishment: In 2012 I, along with the help of the Relay For Life team at my church, produced and directed my hometown’s First Annual Crowns For A Cure Pageant in order to raise money for the American Cancer Society. When we first started planning, we expected to raise $500 or so, but God took our little plan and turned it into something absolutely amazing; within the first year, Crowns For A Cure raised almost $7,000 for the American Cancer Society; Since 2012 Crowns For A Cure has raised over $17,000 for the American Cancer Society.

What is your favorite style of music? I enjoy all styles of music, but my favorite is Blue Grass music.

What is your favorite movie genre and why?  I really enjoy comedies; most of the time the reactions of those around me are more entertaining than the movie itself.

What is your favorite gadget? My favorite gadget is my smartphone. It allows me to constantly stay connected to my friends and family even when we can’t be together. It also serves as a means of access to an unlimited wealth of information.

What is your favorite blog? Feast: An Edible Road Trip; it is a blog about two young women who travel the world in search of interesting foods.

What is your favorite place to visit? Seaside, Florida; I love the relaxed and family oriented atmosphere.

What is your favorite food? My favorite type of food is any food that is new to me. I’m not a picky person, so I love trying new and interesting foods. Doing so also allows me to experience other cultures, which is something that I also enjoy doing.

If you were on a deserted island, what book would you want with you? A survival guide. I am not educated in the ways of the outdoors, so I would need a magnitude of guidance.

Do you twitter? Although I do have a twitter, I do not tweet very often. I prefer Instagram.

What is your favorite?

Sport:            Baseball

Sports Team: University of Southern Mississippi Golden Eagles

Actor: Matthew McConaughey Actress: Sandra Bullock

Television Program: I really enjoy watching Friends. I have probably seen every episode at least three times. The friendships displayed in this particular show are hilarious and captivating.

Wardrobe Accessory: My favorite accessory is a diamond that my grandmother gave me for my high school graduation. It is a piece of jewelry that meant very much to her, and something she wanted to pass down to me. I plan to pass it down as well.

Thing to do on a weekend: It is important to me to spend time with my family on the weekends. I live on campus, so I do not get to see them as often as I would like.

Way to spend a day off: On my days off I really enjoy shopping with my mom and aunt, especially during the holidays. They are two of a kind.

What is your hometown like? My hometown of Petal, Mississippi is nicknamed the Friendly City. Petal prides itself in being a place that is dedicated to growth of its students; a place that creates a safe, family oriented environment for its citizens; and a place that revolves around the motto of leaving this world better than you found it.

What were you like when you were a child?  I was creative. I was always dressed in a costume of some sort, whether that be a disney princess costume or a cowgirlcostume. My favorite, however was my Dorothy costume from the Wizard of Oz. I wore it everywhere I went, even to church.

Who is the most influential person in your life? The most influential person in my life is my mother. We are almost exactly alike, so she understands me and knows me better than anyone else; she has always been my best friend.

What is the one thing about you that people you meet may not immediately realize? I enjoy playing sudoko in my free time. It’s an unusual pastime, but it is challenging and rewarding.

Describe one defining moment in your own life, other than winning your local title: The day I moved into the Luckyday Citizenship hall at the University of Southern Mississippi was one of the most defining moments in my life. Moving in was something that I looked forward to for so long; the day that moment finally came, I realized that I was about to embark on a journey filled with great memories, great friendships, and an educational experience and life lessons that would carry me through college and into adulthood.

What is one important thing you have learned from being in the Miss America Program? The Miss America program encourages positive achievement in young women, and it also empowers them to become amazing role models. My involvement with this program has encouraged me to become a better communicator and it has also allowed me to be involved with something much bigger than myself, such as the Children’s Miracle Network and my platform, Crowns For A Cure.

If you are crowned Miss Mississippi, what do you want to accomplish during your Year of Service? If I am crowned Miss Mississippi 2016, I will live my life in service to my state and in service to others. As Miss Mississippi, I would be an ambassador for this program and for everything it has taught me, as well as many other young women across the state of Mississippi. I would spend my time sharing my experiences as a beneficiary of the Miss Mississippi program, contributing to the welfare of others by setting a positive example for young girls across our state, and graciously serving this state and this program.

What is your secret wish or dream? I would welcome the opportunity to study abroad in Spain. As a Spanish minor, this would give me the opportunity to truly experience the Spanish language and culture.

Im motivated by: I am most motivated by other’s confidence in me and in my abilities. I believe it is so important to surround yourself with loving and uplifting people.

Is there a personal connection that made you pick your personal platform? My family and I have been involved in Relay For Life and the American Cancer Society for as long as I can remember. In the spring of 2012 my family lost my grandfather to cancer. That fall I wanted do something to raise money for the American Cancer Society, so I started planning Crowns For A Cure.

What do you think has been the most significant event in your lifetime? Very early on into my senior year of high school, I suffered from an injury to my scalp which caused scalp and hair loss. I didn’t understand at that time, but I now know that the injury I suffered, although painful and heartbreaking, allowed me to be an influence to those around me by maintaining a positive and heartwarming attitude. The response and care of those around me allowed me to remember the affect my attitude and actions can have on those around me.

The one thing I cant live without:         I could not live without my mother’s sweet tea. She makes the absolute best sweet tea.

My best friend would describe me as: My best friend describes me as: “Someone who is always able to see the positive in not so positive situations. She cares for not only her friends and family, but also her community while upholding a constant demeanor of sophistication and grace.”

Something interesting about my family: My great great grandfather supposedly robbed trains and banks with Jesse James. And, according to legend, has money buried somewhere in Mississippi, but no one has ever been able to find it.

Funniest or most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to me: In high school I was involved in showchoir. My freshman year I was dancing front and center in our first number and my shoe flew off of my foot and hit a microphone causing the microphone to fall into the pit; so, I had to dance the first half of our show with one shoe. My director was not very happy.

One thing Id like to try that is out of character for me: I would love to milk a cow. I’ve never tried it before, and I believe it would be a memorable, yet odd experience.

Do you have any pets? If so, what kind and tell us their names: I have a yellow lab named Drake, a cat named Falula, and a beta fish named Sherman. Drake is definitely the family favorite. He is spoiled daily with treats and an occasional puppiccino from Starbucks.