Kaylin Costello

Miss Rankin County

Hometown:   Tupelo                                                                     

Platform:  Doniphan Dance Project: Promoting Dance To All Ages 

Talent:   Baton Twirling

 What college did you attend, or are currently attending?   University of Arkansas

What is your major?         Kinesiology                                                                                      

What is your scholastic ambition?   I plan to graduate from the University of Arkansas with a degree in kinesiology and pursue my masters in movement therapy.

List scholastic honors:    Special  distinction high school graduate-4.0    GPA, member of several   Honor Societies, AR Non-Resident        Scholarship recipient based on GPA & AC

Greatest non-academic accomplishment:  Baton Twirler with the University of Arkansas

What is your favorite style of music?   Any style of music that I can dance to.

What is your favorite movie genre and why?    Science fiction because they create a sense of wonder allowing me to imagine the possibilities of an alternative world.

What is your favorite gadget?    My computer because I love writing & listening to music.      

What is your favorite blog?         Savvy Shields’ blog.

What is your favorite place to visit?     My hometown of Tupelo    

What is your favorite food?   Japanese

If you were on a deserted island, what book would you want with you?   My Bible so I could grow closer to God in my time of need.                    

Do you twitter?       Yes, but I mostly look at my timeline to keep up with the news.                                                                                              

What is your favorite?  

Sport:  College Football                                                         

Sports Team:   Arkansas Razorbacks   

Actor:   Chris Evans                            

Actress:   Sandra Bullock             Television Program:   So You Think You Can Dance                                   

Wardrobe Accessory:      Kendra Scott Necklace                  

Thing to do on a weekend:    I love to hang out with my friends and family

Way to spend a day off:   Relax & listen to music while spending time with those I love.

 What is your hometown like?   My hometown of Tupelo is a close knit community with loving people who are very welcoming to everyone. Tupelo has a variety of events throughout the year giving a wide variety of activities that appeal to all ages.

What were you like when you were a child?   I was very shy except when I was dancing or twirling. I grew up doing these things in my living room for my family and through dancing and performing my confidence grew allowing me to become more outgoing.

Who is the most influential person in your life?     My mom is my biggest fan who does so much and is super supportive of everything I do.  She has  taught  me  to never  be afraid of my circumstances    and to not let anything or anyone keep me from pursuing dreams.

What is the one thing about you that people you meet may not immediately realize?    I have won awards on the state, regional and national level for baton twirling. I was Miss Majorette of MS eight consecutive years, placed in the top 10 at nationals at the University of Notre Dame and am currently a twirler for the University of Arkansas.                                                                                             

Describe one defining moment in your own life, other than winning your local title:  When I began dancing at the age three, which became a huge passion of mine.  My love for dance is what inspired me  to choose  Doniphan Dance  Project  as  my plat- form, as well as my scholastic and career ambitions of being a movement therapist.

What is one important thing you have learned from being in the Miss America Program?    The Miss America Program has provided me the opportunity for personal growth and discovery of new things by learning to do things out of my comfort zone.

If you are crowned Miss Mississippi, what do you want to accomplish during your Year of Service?               Through  my platform, Doniphan   Dance   Project, I want to encourage   dance to decrease obesity rates as well as the violence  rate  by giving  children  a proactive  way  to spend their  time.  I would also encourage dance to increase quality of life of our senior citizens.                                                                                                                              

What is your secret wish or dream?    My secret wish is to be a star on the TV Reality Show, Dancing With The Stars.

I’m motivated by:  working hard, doing my best and believing everything I do is meaningful.

Is there a personal connection that made you pick your personal platform?    I had been a principle dancer in Doniphan Dance Project for 4 years and had always been very passionate about dance. I believe it is very important for youth to be able to pursue their dreams so they don’t turn to things that will impact their lives negatively.      

What do you think has been the most significant event in your lifetime?    The most significant event in my lifetime is when my nephew, Aiden was born in 2012, which changed my life. In 2015, he was diagnosed with autism and his daily challenges have drastically changed my view of the world and the people I encounter daily.

The one thing I can’t live without:         I can’t live without my faith in God.                                                                                  

My best friend would describe me as:    She would describe me as a very confident and beautiful soul.  She would say that I am someone she can confide in and can trust that I will be genuine, truthful, and always positive and uplifting.

Something interesting about my family:    I am a third generation baton twirler. I have followed  in the footsteps   of and  learned  from my sisters,   mother and  grandmother.  I also had a great uncle that was a national men’s baton champion.

Funniest or most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to me:              During a U of A football half-time show, I fell while twirling in front of thousands of people. It was super embarrassing, but I got up and continued to twirl my heart out and smile even bigger!                                                                                                                                                           

One thing I’d like to try that is out of character for me:       I would like to go skydiving, but I’m not sure my stomach could handle it.                                                                                                                     

Do you have any pets? If so, what kind and tell us their names:      I do not have any pets.  I have wanted a dog  for as  long as I can  remember,  but my parents  have had  dogs  in  the past and did not have the best of luck with them.