Hunter Rush

Miss Red Hills

Hometown:   Birmingham, Alabama                                          

Platform:      Read to Succeed

Talent:           Baton Twirling

What college did you attend, or are currently attending?   Mississippi State

What is your major?         Chemical Engineering with a Minor in Pre-Law                                                            

What is your scholastic ambition?   I aim to become a Chemical Engineer, work in my field for a few years, then earn a law degree and practice law.

List scholastic honors:    Shackhouls Honors College, Recipient of Several Scholarships, Theta Tau Professional Engineering Fraternity

Greatest non-academic accomplishment:      Becoming an MSU Feature Twirler

]What is your favorite style of music?   Pop

What is your favorite movie genre and why?    Romantic comedy. Since I do not have much free time, I want something light and funny.

What is your favorite gadget?    IPhone. It has been a game changer.

What is your favorite place to visit?     Fairhope, Alabama

What is your favorite food?   Anything Italian.

If you were on a deserted island, what book would you want with you?   All the King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren.

Do you twitter?       No                                                                                          

What is your favorite?  

Sport:  Football                                                            Sports Team:   MSU

Actor:   Leonardo DiCaprio                                                           Actress:  Blake Lively 

Television Program:   The Twilight Zone                                             

Wardrobe Accessory:    High heels      

Thing to do on a weekend:    Spend it at the lake with friends & family

Way to spend a day off:   Reading a good book.

What is your hometown like?     It is a bustling city with lots of places to eat and shop as well as having opportunities for exploration rather it be in the city or near the suburbs where I live.                                                                                                                                                         

What were you like when you were a child?   I am an only child so I was more mature and reserved. I was cautious and a bit shy. I enjoyed reading more than socializing, at times.

Who is the most influential person in your life?     My mother, a truly inspirational woman, who works day in and day out not only as a lawyer but as a wife, mother, and community volunteer.

What is the one thing about you that people you meet may not immediately realize?    I truly love helping others, whether it be with math, reading, writing, or just listening to their struggles. I love being there for those that I care about as well as anyone I encounter.

Describe one defining moment in your own life, other than winning your local title:       The day I chose to attend Mississippi State University, which began my love for Mississippi and everything it has to offer. I have never felt more at home in this community.

What is one important thing you have learned from being in the Miss America Program?    I learned how to be confident and comfortable in front of others, how to be poised at all times, and how to communicate effectively.

If you are crowned Miss Mississippi, what do you want to accomplish during your Year of Service?       I want to be able to reach as many children as possible to improve the overall literacy in Mississippi. I would love to work one-on-one directly hands-on with the children.

What is your secret wish or dream?    To be Ariel at Disney World.

I’m motivated by:   A desire to succeed and being the best me I can be as well as friends and family who encourage me.

Is there a personal connection that made you pick your personal platform?    My reading abilities have helped me achieve much success, academically and in my personal life, which have helped me become who I am today.

What do you think has been the most significant event in your lifetime?   The death of my Aunt Nicole at a young age of 35. Her death was preventable and tragic. She was one of my closest family members, and I learned many life lessons.

The one thing I can’t live without: my phone                                         

My best friend would describe me as: outgoing, genuine, funky, big-hearted, and beautiful.

Something interesting about my family:    My grandfather owns a farm with horses and cows; at one point, there was a bull and a donkey in our family, we learn to ride horses before we walk.

Funniest or most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to me: The teacher who taught the 3-year old Sunday school class will always remember me as the girl who read the Bible to him while everyone else licked the walls.

One thing I’d like to try that is out of character for me:  I would like to try skydiving.

Do you have any pets? If so, what kind and tell us their names:    No, I do not. My mom got a dog before I was born, and as I was growing up we never got along so after his death we did not replace him.