Georgia Kate Conner

Miss Capital City

Hometown:   Ripley, MS                                       

Platform:  Illiteracy

Talent:   Vocal                                                        

 What college did you attend, or are currently attending?   Itawamba Community College for 2 years, now attending Mississippi State University                                                        

What is your major?   Dual major in Marketing and Fashion Design and Merchandising

What is your scholastic ambition?       Graduate from MSU with good grades and have everything ready for my big girl job.                                                                                                                                         

List scholastic honors:    Phi Theta Kappa, Golden Key International                  

Greatest non-academic accomplishment    Attending Harvard’s UWIB Conference

What is your favorite style of music?    I enjoy all styles!

What is your favorite movie genre and why?  Comedy.   I always love a good laugh.                                                                                                                                                 

What is your favorite gadget?    My phone

What is your favorite blog?        The Skinm

What is your favorite place to visit?    The beach during the summer      

What is your favorite food?        Pizza

If you were on a deserted island, what book would you want with you?          The Bible                                                                                                                                                                  

Do you twitter?    Yes.                                                                                                                 

What is your favorite?

Sport:   Football                                                            

Sports Team:   Mississippi State            

Actor:    Zac Efron                    

Actress:    Reese Witherspoon

Television Program:    Kelly and Ryan Live                                                                 

Wardrobe Accessory:      My tops         

Thing to do on a weekend:    Travel and spend time with friends and family

Way to spend a day off:   Nap and getting organized for the next day

What is your hometown like?     Very small.  It only has three stoplights.  It is special because of the local and family small town feel that it gives.

What were you like when you were a child?      Very soft spoken but loved meeting new people.  Not much has changed.

 Who is the most influential person in your life?       My grandmother is someone who has always been there for me and someone I have always looked up to.  She encourages me daily and pushes me to be my best.

What is the one thing about you that people you meet may not immediately realize?                                                                                                                                

Describe one defining moment in your own life, other than winning your local title:           I consider going to college was a defining moment in my life.  TA was one of the major changes in my life that challenged me to stay true to myself and push myself past limits I thought were impossible.                                                                                                                                       

What is one important thing you have learned from being in the Miss America Program?    Dedication and hard work is something I have learned through this program.

If you are crowned Miss Mississippi, what do you want to accomplish during your Year of Service?       I would love to further my platform and make awareness of illiteracy through the state and beyond.                                                                                                                                                 

What is your secret wish or dream?    My talent of singing is something that is very special to me.  My dream would be to ravel and sing all my life!                                                                                  

I’m motivated by:  I am motivated by all of my younger siblings.  As the oldest sibling, I strive daily to be a role model for them.                                                                                                                                                          

Is there a personal connection that made you pick your personal platform?   My 7 year old little brother has been my main personal connection when I picked my platform.  Whenever I watch his reading skills improve, it shows me it’s possible for others.                                                                                                                                                          

What do you think has been the most significant event in your lifetime?        Becoming a part of the Miss America organization has been very significant in my lifetime.  It has taught me so much and I have met so many people.                                                                                                                                      

The one thing I can’t live without:         My family                                                                                          

My best friend would describe me as:    very out-going, friendly and caring                                                                                                                               

Something interesting about my family:    I come from a very large family.  I am one of seven siblings so there is never a dull moment around our household.                                                       

Funniest or most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to me:                Falling on stage when I was young.                                                                                                                                                  

One thing I’d like to try that is out of character for me:     Speaking in a different language.

Do you have any pets? If so, what kind and tell us their names:            I am a college kid and I live in an apt. at college that does not allow pets.