Derykah Watts

Miss Hinds Community College

Hometown:   Jackson                                                     

Platform:      Bracelets of Hope – Breast Cancer Awareness

Talent:           Dance

What college did you attend, or are currently attending?   Hinds Community College

What is your major?         Biology                                                                     

What is your scholastic ambition?   To complete my bachelor’s degree in biology

Greatest non-academic accomplishment:   Winning the state championship in Long Jump

What is your favorite style of music?   Country and R&B

What is your favorite movie genre and why?    Comedy. Romantic movies make me cry, and I am too afraid to watch scary movies.

What is your favorite gadget?    Kindle Fire

What is your favorite place to visit?     Family home in Houston, Texas.

What is your favorite food?   Green beans and tomatoes

If you were on a deserted island, what book would you want with you?  The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. 

Do you twitter?       Yes,  @DerykahWatts                                                                                           

What is your favorite?  

Sport:  Football                                           Sports Team:   New Orleans Saints

Actor:   Lin Manuel Miranda                     Actress:       Mariska Hargitay     

Television Program:         Blacklist                                

Wardrobe Accessory:      Earrings

Thing to do on a weekend:    Attend Montage Theatre of Dance rehearsals and events.

Way to spend a day off:   Reading and binge watching Blacklist on Netflix.

What is your hometown like?    I honestly believe that there is no place like Jackson, Mississippi, and the only way to really understand a place like Mississippi is to visit and experience it for yourself.

What were you like when you were a child?   I was very energetic as a child, always dancing and singing around the house.

Who is the most influential person in your life?     My mother. When I was eleven years old my mother was diagnosed with stage 4 breast cancer. Every single day she not only fought for her life, but she fought for my sister and me.

What is the one thing about you that people you meet may not immediately realize?    That I ran track in high school, was a state champion Long Jumper, and I was on a collegiate track team. I am very athletic, and I am still very involved with the sport teams at my high school.

Describe one defining moment in your own life, other than winning your local title:  Graduating high school and attending Hinds Community College. Leaving such a small family-oriented school and going to such a large institution really was a culture shock for me, and it took time for me to rediscover myself.

What is one important thing you have learned from being in the Miss America Program?    The Miss America program builds relationships not only on the local level, but on a national level. I know that this will benefit me as a candidate as I discover my fullest potential.

If you are crowned Miss Mississippi, what do you want to accomplish during your Year of Service?    Miss Mississippi’s year is always described as a Year of Service. That is exactly what I want to do. I want everyone to know how important community service is, not only to those in need, but to every individual person. Communities are built on service.

What is your secret wish or dream?    That I could eat ice cream and bread without any consequence.

 I’m motivated by:   My friends. They are the best support system anyone could ever have.

Is there a personal connection that made you pick your personal platform?  When I was 11 years old my mother was diagnosed with stage four breast cancer.Watching her fight inspired me to want to help other children that are faced with the same challenges and emotions I faced.

What do you think has been the most significant event in your lifetime?   Performing the Pregame Show at a Dallas Cowboys football game at the AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

The one thing I can’t live without:         My earrings                                                  

My best friend would describe me as:    Incredible, charismatic, and loving individual who automatically helps others if possible. A talented individual who supports the arts and has the ability to adapt to any crowd.

Something interesting about my family:    My mother, in some form or another, “adopted “almost 20 children in a thirty-year span. It can be friends, family, strangers – my mother loves to bring people into our home and take care of them.

Funniest or most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to me:             

One thing I’d like to try that is out of character for me:  I want to be a Wildlife Veterinarian; however, I have never owned any animals.

Do you have any pets? If so, what kind and tell us their names:    I do not have any pets.