Kendall Pasley

Miss Dixie
Hometown: Germantown, TN
Platform: E.C.H.O. Early Childhood Hearing Outreach
Talent: Vocal
What college did you attend, or are currently attending? University of Mississippi
What is your major? Integrated Marketing Communications
What is your scholastic ambition? I will obtain a degree in Mass Communications and become a news anchor for a major network
List scholastic honors: Spanish Honor Society
Greatest non-academic accomplishment: iPop Best Actress Award Los Angeles, CA
What is your favorite style of music? Country
What is your favorite movie genre and why? I enjoy comedies because I like happy endings
What is your favorite gadget? iPhone
What is your favorite blog? Pinterest
What is your favorite place to visit? Los Angeles, California
What is your favorite food? Sweet Potatoes
If you were on a deserted island, what book would you want with you? The Bible
Do you twitter? Yes
What is your favorite? Sport: Wakeboarding Sports Team: Ole Miss Rebels Actor: Vince Vaughn Actress: Sandra Bullock Television Program: Nashville Wardrobe Accessory: Rings Thing to do on a weekend: Horseback riding/Ole Miss Football Games Way to spend a day off: Wakeboarding
Please keep the answers to the following question to two sentences or less
What is your hometown like? My hometown is very exciting with lots of wonderful food and shopping
What were you like when you were a child? My mom says I was always happy. She said I never threw tantrums and was seldom ever upset, and for that she says she is truly grateful
Who is the most influential person in your life? My mom, because she is truly one of the most selfless people I know. She is always giving and willing to help me in every way that she can. I don’t know what I would do without her and everything she has taught me
What is the one thing about you that people you meet may not immediately realize? I’m very hardworking, and I love to stay busy. I’ve played almost every sport, and I am currently on the Ole Miss wakeboarding team. I’m also left handed
Describe one defining moment in your own life, other than winning your local title: I have grown up riding horses and even used to compete in Hunter Jumper shows all around the South. I fell off during a show and never thought I would ride again. I ended up coming back the next year and winning “Grand Champion.” It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to overcome and has taught me never to give up
What is one important thing you have learned from being in the Miss America Program? To always be yourself; I think it is sometimes hard not to conform to those who are around you. Pageants have shown me how to be a leader and to believe in myself
If you are crowned Miss Mississippi, what do you want to accomplish during your Year of Service? If I was crowned Miss Mississippi, I would continue to raise awareness about my platform, E.C.H.O. I would continue to work closely with Children’s Miracle Network and children who suffer from hearing loss. I would also work to provide free hearing screenings to everyone
What is your secret wish or dream? I would love to be a Disney Princess. I LOVE everything Disney and love working with children
I’m motivated by: Challenges; I feel like you should always have goals you are working toward. Always look up and look for ways to improve
Is there a personal connection that made you pick your personal platform? Yes, growing up my dear friend Lexie had an undetected hearing problem which caused her to suffer from a lack of self-confidence and self-esteem. It is my goal to help other children avoid going through what Lexy did and to show them that they can overcome any obstacle
What do you think has been the most significant event in your lifetime? The inauguration of President Obama
The one thing I can’t live without: A microwave
My best friend would describe me as: Caring; I love seeing my friends do well and love being able to share in their success. I think they know they can count on me to be there for them and love them in every success and failure
Something interesting about my family: My dad is 72 years old, and some of my family lives in France
Funniest or most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to me: I was randomly pulled on stage with the Jonas Brothers because I was standing beside girls who had won a contest
One thing I’d like to try that is out of character for me: I would love to drive a race car
Do you have any pets? If so, what kind and tell us their names: I have two “fur babies” who are both shelties named Dutchess and Holly