Katie Busby

Miss Delta State University
Hometown: Vicksburg, MS
Platform: Child Abuse Prevention
Talent: Vocal
What college did you attend, or are currently attending? Delta State University
What is your major? My major is Nursing
What is your scholastic ambition? I plan to obtain a Bachelor of Science Degree in Nursing and later obtain a Master of Science Degree in Nursing
List scholastic honors: I graduated with honors from high school and have been on the Delta State University Dean’s List
Greatest non-academic accomplishment: I was named to Hall of Fame at Warren Central High School
What is your favorite style of music? I like all genres of music, but if I had to choose one it would be Country
What is your favorite movie genre and why? My favorite movie genre is romance movies. I love curling up on the couch and watching a tear- jerker or a good love story. This allows me to escape reality and live in a fairytale
What is your favorite gadget? My favorite gadget is my electric neck massager
What is your favorite blog? I do not blog
What is your favorite place to visit? My favorite place to visit is the mountains of Colorado because they are beautiful and relaxing. There is always something to do, regardless of the season
What is your favorite food? My favorite food is anything Italian
If you were on a deserted island, what book would you want with you? If I were on a desert island I would want to have my Daily Devotional book with me. Reading my Devotional is the first thing I do every morning
Do you twitter? I do not Twitter. I have never had a Twitter account
What is your favorite? Sport: softball/ baseball Sports Team: I do not have a particular favorite professional team, but I love DSU baseball Actor: Matthew McConaughey Actress: Jennifer Aniston Television Program: My favorite television program is Untold Stories of the ER Wardrobe Accessory: My favorite wardrobe accessory would have to be my pearl earrings
Thing to do on a weekend: My favorite weekend would be a relaxing weekend full of daddy/ daughter time
Way to spend a day off: If weather permits, I enjoy being outdoors, especially at a park or a pond
Please keep the answers to the following question to two sentences or less
What is your hometown like? Vicksburg played a significant part in our Southern history. There are many things to see, from the Civil War sites to the location of the first bottle Coca-Cola
What were you like when you were a child? As a child I was caring, responsible, smart, and highly active
Who is the most influential person in your life? The most influential person in my life is my father. I am truly a daddy’s girl
What is the one thing about you that people you meet may not immediately realize? Upon meeting someone for the first time, he or she may not realize my huge heart. I’m always willing to reach out and help others if they need someone to depend on. This has always given me a sense of fulfillment
Describe one defining moment in your own life, other than winning your local title: A defining moment in my life was being accepted into Delta State University’s Nursing school. This program has a 98% pass rate for state boards due to the teaching expertise of the faculty
What is one important thing you have learned from being in the Miss America Program? One important thing that I have learned from being in the Miss America Program is that in life, as a whole, you are competing against yourself to be the best that you can be
If you are crowned Miss Mississippi, what do you want to accomplish during your Year of Service? If I were crowned Miss Mississippi, I would like to increase awareness of Child Abuse and serve as a role model for children
What is your secret wish or dream? My secret dream has always been to compete in the Olympics in the Gymnastic category
I’m motivated by: I am motivated by my father. He is my greatest encourager and biggest supporter. Also, God is a major motivator for my life. I try to always trust His plan and live by His example
Is there a personal connection that made you pick your personal platform? I have never personally experienced child abuse. However, my upbringing has taught me the importance of family and that family should be a safe haven for children
What do you think has been the most significant event in your lifetime? The most significant event in my life has been my parent’s divorce. It has taught me so much about life and has helped shape me into the woman I am and aspire to be
The one thing I can’t live without: The one thing I absolutely cannot live without is my planner
My best friend would describe me as: I think my best friend would describe me as genuine, one who care wholeheartedly, easy going, and a good listener
Something interesting about my family: My family loves to travel. Our favorite travel adventure is taking cruises
Funniest or most embarrassing thing that has ever happened to me: I have always been terrible with directions. Once, in junior high my teacher asked us to point North and I point up toward the ceiling because North on maps always points up. Rather that telling me that I was incorrect, my teacher embarrassed me in front of the entire class
One thing I’d like to try that is out of character for me: One thing that I would like to try that is out of character for me would be to go sky diving. It seems like a huge rush, but very dangerous. I have always been a cautious person, so this would be unusual for me
Do you have any pets? If so, what kind and tell us their names: I have one pet. He is a Dachshund named Buddy